Campus Overview

The University of the Philippines Mindanao was created through Republic Act 7889 on February 20, 1995 signed by President Fidel V. Ramos. It is the only constituent of the University of the Philippines that was created through legislative action. The Lee Business Center in J.Luna corner J. dela Cruz Streets and the Casa Mercado Building in Matina, Davao City served as home to UP from March to September 1995, and from September to January 1996, respectively. At present, its campus is located in Barangay Mintal, where it is surrounded by a landscape that is free of intrusive urban and commercial distractions. UP Mindanao is mandated to lead in providing affordable quality education, scholarly research, and responsive and relevant extension services to diverse, marginalized and deserving sectors in Mindanao and neighboring regions through its programs in the sciences and the arts, inculcating a passion for excellence, creative thinking, and nationalism in the context of cultural diversity in a global community. The campus area is 204 ha and is home to approximately 1,200 students including graduate students, and 150 academic staff every year. There are three main buildings inside the campus: the College of the Humanities and Social Sciences (CHSS), focusing on the cultural diversity of Mindanao through the study of humanities and social sciences; the College of Science and Mathematics (CSM), studying the endemic flora and pioneering scientific development in the fields of biology, food science, applied mathematics, and computer science; and the School of Management (SOM), which undertakes research on supply chain management and agribusiness economics (“UP Mindanao History”, 2017).